G.R.A.P.E.S. – a content organizer

During the years that I taught ancient civilizations to 11 year olds, I found that students often struggled with the content. It had an awful lot of big words, and each area/time was just so different. I was thrilled when I ran across this organizer for timer periods, G.R.A.P.E.S.

G – Geography

R – Religion

A – Art and Architecture

P – Politics and Government

E – Economics

S – Social Structures

One, it was a great way to explain and remember the parts of a civilization and for them to understand the definition of the word. Two, I organized all of our notes this way in our interactive notebooks, so that there became a predictable pattern to our lessons. Oh, we finished up religion, now we’ll be learning about art and architecture. We were able to discuss the standards with these – ok, guys the state wants us to focus on the art, architeture, and politics and government. Does that mean they didn’t have the others? Etc. It became a great way to compare and contrast. Loved it.

Here is the document that I use when I introduce the concept in my class:

GRAPES – civilization

I’ve recently come across another acronym called “PERSIA”.  Here is a link to a great description at the History Tech blog. I hope you find either or both of these useful!

3 comments so far

  1. Matureteach on

    This is the best organizer for teaching Ancient Civilizations that I’ve seen in years. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. K on

    I currently use GRAPES. However, when working for another school system, I found that the acronym SWAGGER appealed to that population. It’s basically the same thing: Social Sctructures, Writing and Literature, Art and architecture, Geography, Government and politics, and Religion. My students loved this and would walk by my room shouting “Swagger!”

  3. jessica on

    it helped


Leave a comment