Working with Google Docs

Edited to add this note: If you are new to the idea of Google Apps, you may be interested in this introductory post.

It all started a couple of weeks ago when I came across this image on Pinterest:

Google Workflow for Blog

My district is going 1:1 iPads in grades 3-5 next year, so I was searching for ways to go paperless. I am a leap in and try it out kind of girl, so I immediately implemented this as a way to keep our electronic work for War Horse and World War I organized. These are my thoughts two weeks later.

1) Google Apps is so much easier to manage than Edmodo.

I can access their folders anytime, make comments, and students can revise their work. I like being able to pull up their folder with all of their assignments, versus having to go into each individual assignment in Edmodo. Edmodo is still useful for student communication and a classroom hub for this year, but I think next year I will be all Google all the time.

2) The folder works as a portfolio.

I really love being able to see all their work for the unit in one place. I can easily click on a previous assignment to see if they are making the same mistakes or to monitor their growth. When I used Google Forms to have them reflect on the unit, it was really great for them to access their first assignments to compare their writing with their later assignments and they recognized the growth they had made. Powerful. Next year, I think I will have them create folders for each of the main categories of the Common Core Standards so that they can track their progress all year.

3) Feedback rocks!

I love being able to comment directly in their paper at the point where I notice the “glow or grow” area. Students can easily read my comments because they are typed and they don’t have to struggle with “squished” notes in the margins. I allowed my students to revise their work, and had them change the name of the document to “revised” if they wanted me to look at it again. Since their work was typed already and easily accessible, several students are actually revising their work!

This experience has led me to more advanced ways of using Google Docs. I will be experimenting this week with adding a script called Doctopus – something that will automate the file creation process and then using another script called Goobric, which will attach a rubric into the document that you are grading. If you are currently using Google Docs, and want to take it to the next level, please do an internet search for these scripts. Teachers are generous, and there are many videos and “how to” pdfs online.

Wish me luck!

1 comment so far

  1. […] In short, these are some of the reasons I love working with Google Apps, and in my next few posts will be focusing on how I use Google Apps for Ed in the classroom. My first experiment was in using shared folders, which I wrote about here. […]

Leave a Reply

