Common Core, Standards Based Grading, and Integration – oh my!

It has been awhile since my last post, and that has been because my head has been spinning with new ideas and new opportunities. For the last two years, I have had the opportunity to work on a two person team teaching Language Arts and Social Studies in a gifted magnet program. I have moved from teaching a 100 students, one subject, four times a day for an hour to teaching 50 students, three subjects (reading, writing, social studies) twice a day for two and a half hours. The push towards the Common Core, and the need to help students make the most of their learning time has led me to focus on integration and differentiation. This in turn led me to standards based grading as a way of facilitating these things and keeping my students focused on the learning they were doing. There has been more than a few changes in my thinking over this time, and I have grown tremendously, but I have been so busy reading, thinking, discussing with my awesome team mate, and just doing that I haven’t taken the time to post. I also wanted to wait until my thinking was clearer, but as I tell my students “writing is THINKING”, so I’m going to think out loud here and hope that you will give me feedback and help me become clear. Tomorrow I will start with the one skill that launched the most changes in my thinking – note-taking.

4 comments so far

  1. Brandee Green (@brandeeg123) on

    Hi~ It’s me…Brandee from twitter! I second everything you just said and that’s the reason it took me so long to add your blog to my blog roll but I am now ready to follow your blog and learn right along with you! Same three subjects, same time frame, two times a day in the same state! I’d say our standards and lessons should align quite well together! Can’t wait to learn and share lots with you all year long!
    Creating Lifelong Learners

  2. mrsgannon on

    Hi Brandee! I am so excited about collaborating with you this year!

  3. Kathi Johnson on

    I am so glad you are back. Your blog was immensely helpful when I started to use interactive notebooks. I was afraid something had happened to you when you stopped blogging. Happy to see you are alive and well and posting again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. mrsgannon on

    Thank you! It has been crazy busy for me, but I really wanted to get back to regular blogging.

Leave a Reply

