Animoto – I’ll say it backwards, “WOW”

I’ve been collecting Web 2.0 sites that looked interesting, but I haven’t had a chance yet to explore many of them. Today I tried Animoto for the first time. Animoto takes your photos, analyzes them and puts them to music (choose theirs or upload your own) and creates a unique, movie traileresque presentation.

In less time than it would take me to upload my photos to Shutterfly, I was already choosing which pictures to keep in the show (12 – 15 only), then selecting my music. That’s it. Everything else was generated automatically.

Here is my first attempt, a tour of my classroom. You can link to the show, or embed in your webpage.

The free version is limited to 30 seconds, but even that has endless possibilities – previews for lessons or units, documenting student work or activities, etc. 

But wait, there’s more. Animoto offers a free, six month all access pass (renewable) that allows unlimited length videos from pictures for you AND your students. They call this service Animoto for Education and I can’t wait to try this with my students this year.

2 comments so far

  1. Elaina Weaver on

    Have you heard of Microsoft photostory? That is what I use. Super easy!!

  2. mrsgannon on

    I have and it is great. Animoto was even faster and easier – really no formatting required for a very nifty presentation.

Leave a Reply

